Search Button

Office of the Provost

SACSCOCFifth-Year Accreditation Review

SACSCOC reaffirmation of accreditation

Accreditation by SACSCOC means that VCU:

SACSCOC is the regional accrediting body for degree-granting higher education institutions in 11 southern states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. SACS, founded in 1895, is a private, voluntary, nonprofit organization dedicated to the enhancement of educational quality and improvement of institutional effectiveness through peer review and institutional self-regulation.

SACSCOC sets forth requirements for initial and continued accreditation of colleges and universities in its publication The Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement.  The review cycle is continuous, once accreditation is granted, so that reviews are conducted by SACSCOC every five years:

To be accredited, SACSCOC evaluates institutions on their:

The three possible review outcomes are: